Quick intuitive way to avoid clamps

I’m very new to this software; however;
i need a quick intuitive way to avoid clamp locations on my workpiece.
if it already exists its buried and should be a very quick “in your face” button to mark and avoid clamps on the work surface while in easel pro.
thank would make my life much better. thank you.

1 Like

A vacuum table, double sided tape or masking tape and super glue.

1 Like

Spiral cam Clamps bolted to the spoilboard, tighten the bolts so the cams do not vibrate lose.
Long wedges a personal fave.
Dog holes with plastic pipe dogs. Some of us use PVC, I use pex.

too expensive and slow. need a software solution

hate to break it to you. There is none.

One Method would be to use Center as the Origin. If the cnc never moves to the perimeter of the workpiece then it won’t hit any clamps.

Another method would be to use the Origin Safety Height setting to increase the Safety height of the First and Last moves of the cnc which would help to avoid clamps.

1 Like

I know of nothing faster than long wedges if .you are doing production work.
If you want a software solution, you will have to learn g_code and plot each clamp in the g_code as a no go part of your design, which would take you a very long time for each new setup.
20 years ago +/- I designed an optical sensor for detecting broken milling bits, maybe you could put a colored lamp on each clamp and program in a sensor.

1 Like

This is a good idea- and it would be nice if it was built into the software but it’s not. Why not measure your clearances (for instance, if you’re using the dust boot you’ve probably already noticed you need more clearance on the right side than the left to avoid the threaded rod clamps) and then plot a shape (probably a rectangle) with 0 depth, and plant that sucker right where your clamp is. Then copy, paste, repeat.