Quick Question: How thick can this cut?

I did some searching, but all the replies I found were from several years ago (and possibly older models?)
So, how thick of a piece of wood can I cut all the way through? 1.25 inches really doesn’t seem thick enough to do a guitar body, nor many necks.

(I’m a hobbyist not a pro btw).

You should be able to cut 2" with a stock machine. If i am not mistaken there is around 2 1/4" of clearance under the stock machine. You would just need a longer bit and take your time.

The FAQ says that it will only do 1.25 inches. So how do you get that extra .75 inches? Bit confused here.

The clearance under your z axes carriage if i am not mistaken is around 2 1/4". The router will go up farther then that. Not exactly for sure how long of a bit you can install and still have room. Or you can do what a lot of people do and buy a set of 2" risers which will give you and extra couple of inches of clearance.

Note that chip clearing will be the biggest hurdle when carving deep single slots. This can cause a lot of issues.

By carving an “outer pocket” vs single slot you increase carve time but reduce risk of failure.

I would buy the machine and invest Y axis riser plates. That is worth the extra few dollars in my opinion. You may want to use long bits and still have a nice clearance over your 8/4 lumber.

To answer your question:

https://inventables.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360012452474-What-is-the-maximum-size-material-that-can-be-carved-on-an-X-Carve-#:~:text=Basics%20See%20more-,What%20is%20the%20maximum%20size%20material%20that,carved%20on%20an%20X-Carve%3F&text=An%20assembled%201000mm%20x%201000mm,to%20fit%20into%20the%20machines.

I’m not familiar with the term ‘outer pocket’ in this context. Could you put a link or explain please?