Really need some advice with Aspire

I am new to both Inventables and to CNC. Just bought a Chinese router from eBay, and I think it is finally ready to cut something. When I create a project (a 2D sign that has pocket holes) in Aspire, I set the material size to 10" by 20" and I assumed that it would cut at that size, so I had a piece of lumber a little bigger than that on the bed, but what it actually does when I run an air-cut test is significantly smaller than that. Can anyone give me an idea as to why that is? I may have made an error in getting aspire, as it is way over my head for learning on, but I figured if I was going to spend money, I might as well make it worth my while…

Smaller? Are your units set to millimeters?

No, it is set for inches.

There are TONS of tutorial videos offered by vectric which will help you learn the program side of things.

Being that you got a cheap CNC on ebay, have you calibrated it correctly and done any test carves?

I’m sure more knowledgeable people will chime in.

It was very difficult to set the CNC up. The manual was 1/2 in Chinese, the rest in broken English. That was bad enough, but worse was the fact that the settings given in the manual were wrong, and the seller repeatedly provided the same wrong settings. Also, the VFD settings for the spindle had to be adjusted, and no manual was provided for that, so there was no clue how to accomplish that. CNC groups on Facebook and folks at the CNCZONE forum were very helpful in getting that all sorted. No test carves have been done at this point. I am thinking of setting something up in Easel and trying that.