Repetitive carves

Hi, I am fairly new to easel and while it is really user friendly I am not sure how to to do repetitive carves while skipping the setup for each new piece or if it is even possible. For example if I were to carve scrabble letters, is there a way to set up everything for the first letter and then just hit the carve button to carve another tile without going through the setup process again? I know I can use last x/y, but would like a way to use last z as well without probing. everything would be the exact same and the new tile will be in the same location on the waste board. Just trying to save time by skipping the setup process for each tile. Accuracy from tile to tile is not that important. I was thinking if there is a way it would save a lot of time if I had 50 tiles to carve.

I assume by setup you mean the post-carve setup, not the setup/configuration of your Xcarve

Sure :slight_smile:

• Use a bump stop to affix the work piece consistently in regard to work zero (Easel Home Position)
  • Once work zero is set (Click Confirm Home Position)
  • Carve first piece
  • Insert piece number 2
  • Click Carve and “Use Previous Home”
    If you need to move the bit out of the way to remove #1/inserting #2 use only the Easel jog buttons
  • Repeat
1 Like

You have to z each time. Check out my videos. I show that on multiple projects.

I have to disagree with you. As long as the material is the same thickness and he has a bump stop set up he should not have to rezero the z. Just hit Use Previous Home and go. I have done it hundreds of times with no problems.

3 Likes

For using Easel & Xcarve resetting Z is not a requirement, unless something related to the bit have changed.
It may be a safe preventive measure in case of controller/USB issues during carve setup etc but not a requirement.

Great. I learned something new. I’m going to try it today. Thank you!

1 Like

Thank you for the quick responses. I am going to try it today.

Wayne you are correct.