Running LinuxCNC tool stack vs X-Controller with all the fixings (Happy Thanksgiving)

I bought a 1000 mm X-Carve way back in June of 2015 and took over a year to assemble it. I’m only mentioning the delay in assembly because it explains why it has received so little use and maybe explains why I’m not very experienced yet. Now that I’ve got it fully operational I’m getting my fine tuning steps applied and I’m learning as I go along. I’m anticipating that I’m going to outgrow the capabilities of the current hardware/software which is the Arduino w/grbl shield and Easel very quickly or at least get bitten by pitfalls or limitations of that pairing which will drive me to an alternative. One such limitation is the ability to do gradients or smooth curves easily. I see now as of writing this it is possible with converting to greyscale and exporting as SVG, but that wouldn’t be ideal in all cases.

I think what I want to do is go the route of LinuxCNC with custom hardware to support it, but I’m not sure about this now that the X-Controller is available. I think I might be in a state of confusion as to what hardware is comparative to the alternative(s). I don’t know what the sum of all parts in the X-Controller could be compared to in LinuxCNC world mainly because I’m not really knowledgeable with this stuff yet and would appreciate some help.