Sell your project files

Hey guys, I purchased my xcarve about 3 months ago and been doing pretty good making and selling signs. I wanted to make a site for other makers to sell their CNC files. Is there any interest from anyone in here to want to sell their designs? You will keep 100% of the revenue you generate (minus credit card processing fees) I want about 5 makers to help me with getting it going by adding their designs to test out the site.

1 Like

I think it’s a great idea.

Quite a few projects that have been shown here on Inventables have come from or are inspired from Instructables.com or other sites anyways.

My background is in graphic design and I fortunately stay very busy 7 days a week. I would love to make some small furniture pieces however stopping my workflow to design the pieces (Corel Draw X8) and then converting into G Code (Vetric Desktop Pro or Aspire) is just not in the cards. So I would happily spend some money to purchase the files instead of taking the time to design them.

I can see where people would not want to sell some of their designs but the great thing is they don’t have to. Myself is a great case in point… I hold some college licensing and I would not and could not sell those designs since they are my bread and butter and it would violate my contract with the institutions.

However I have hundreds if not thousands of other design files and I would consider selling some of those.

That’s a good point and I would feel the same way.

I’m in a small town in Wisconsin. My Dad (79 years old) absolutely loves selling (mostly signs) at craft shows, flea markets and such so I take him to quite a few during year. We do pretty good at them… I think the worst one we have gone to was still a $1k weekend