Share Your Speeds & Feeds Bits and Wood Carving Info

I have the X-Carve 1000mm with the 300w spindle and the end mill starter set. I have yet to complete a good carving job because I am a total NEWBIE to this. I bought V Carve Pro with my X-Carve and the settings are overwhelming to say the least. I have gone through lots of wood in the garage trying to carve something nice and I can see where it would be easy to get discouraged and lose interest in this whole new concept.Easel is easy to use but matching up the bits to the job is information overload to a point. UGS has already busted my Z axis micro switch because I forgot to change from IN and MM when homing.

Everyone on this Forum is knowledgeable and very helpful, so I was wondering if the veteran CNC folks could take the time to post a successful carving project with the bits they use the type of wood the spindle and the feeds and speed and depth of cut they use to complete the job even if it is just a letter on a piece of scrap wood, just something us new folks could try to copy and get the feel for this whole new adventure without getting discouraged to the point of giving up.

Any help and sharing of information for us new folks would greatly be appreciated

4 Likes

Vcarve is an excellent piece of software. I suggest you be sure you have the clipart downloaded and then pick one of the 3D examples and carve it to see what can be done.

I started a new project, set my material to 5 inch high by 5 inch wide and .5 inch high. Then when to the clipart/animals folder and copied the eagle to the workspace. (be sure the X/Y zero is set to bottom left corner, for some reason it defaulted to middle)