Solutions for curved work surface?

Posting uncategorized because I’m not sure where to put this.

I’ve been having a hard time finding answers to this question on the google or forums. I’m hoping to find or, if need be, create a solution for carving a work surface that isn’t flat, but curved. I’ve got a digital model of the workpiece as it exists, so I could import it into whatever software, but I don’t know what I’d want or need as far as packages are concerned for generating a toolpath that anticipates a curved surface.

I’m a software developer by trade and I have some experience with embedded systems so it’s theoretically within my grasp, but if I can I’d like to avoid rolling my own solution from scratch.

Any advice?

VCarve can project a carving onto a curved surface. But the curved surface geometry would need to be imported as an STL file

1 Like

Chilipeppr should be able to do a surface probe and compensate, if you have a probe.

1 Like

Here’s the feature description in ChiliPeppr, just cut the bundled Chilipeppr logo gcode about an hour ago. Looks like a great piece of software.

I didn’t know Chilipeppr did that, that’s freaking awesome! That will be a great trick when I try to engrave into tiles that aren’t perfectly flat!

Holy moly that’s amazing, and exactly what I was looking for. Time to look into a probe. Thank you so much!

1 Like

This is one of the very reasons I bought the Planet CNC system for my mills. I have found their setup far more stable for large jobs over Chilipeppr. It also allows you to do 3D digital mapping with the same setup which would allow you to map then import the object in question and make any needed adjustments on the curved surfaces. Here is a link to the probing and warping process and the 3d digital mapping process. I have used both on my mills and love them. A simple digital probe is all that is needed for materials that are not conductive.

Probing and warping: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jGY92S8bxM