[SOLVED] 2D pocket cut about 1mm off even after multiple passes

Hi all,
I’m new to CNC milling and have been getting slowly in over the course of the past few months. Up until now I haven’t needed to do any precision work. Now that I am attempting some precise cuts, I’m encountering an issue.

I’m doing some simple 2D pocket cuts that require precision of 0.1mm so I can snugly fit aluminum tracks in the resulting slot.

I did a very simple test with a slot 9.7mm deep and 19.2mm wide. I am doing test cuts in some scrap pine that I have laying around.

The issue I see is that the slot ends up being around 17mm wide after running the operation. If I run the exact same operation again the slot is widened by about 0.3-0.5mm. I ran the same operation 4 times in a row and ended up with a slot about 18.15mm wide (I go 18.3 on another test) as you can see

Settings:

Dewalt 611 Router at speed 3
carbide 4 flute 1/4" flat end mill with less than 30 hours of only wood cutting
Dewalt standard 1/4" collet
2000mm /min feed
5mm max stepover
3mm max roughing step down
0.2mm finishing stepdown

I can see how the first pass might end up off if perhaps the cut depth is too deep or the speed too aggressive resulting in tool flex. However on the 2nd pass I would assume that, having 1mm or less on each side for the 1/4" tool to work on, it should have no trouble clearing that away to a fairly precise cut. However the results that I see are that even after 4 passes there is still more material to cut away.

What should I look into for addressing this discrepancy? I poked around the XCarve to see if anything was loose and didn’t immediately identify any pieces which could account for this.

Thanks in advance for your help

Possibly your end mill isn’t actually exactly 1/4"

If you jog 20mm, does the machine move exactly 20mm?

measure your bits, just because it says 1/8" doesn’t mean the ‘cut’ width matches. So…measure the cut width in a single line and use that as your bit spec.