Spindle mount exited from carriage

Yesterday I experienced mi first disaster.
During an unattended run (I left the x-carve working while going to dinner) the spindle mount exited from the bottom side of the z carriage.
This caused the spinning spindle to fall on the material, drill though it, break the bit and drill through the wasteboard.
Obviously the drilling was not clean as the program continued trying to move the bit on the defined path, and when I came back I found burned pieces of wood, thick white smoke in the workshop and a blackened bit collet (which I could not detach).

Unfortunately I did not see how this happened.

I’m new to CNC, but except breaking two 1/8 bits previous runs were all quite good.

Did anyone experience anything similar?
How did you solve it?
Would you advise closing the bottom of the z carriage by attaching something to avoid wheels exiting from the rails?
Is there any way to detect similar failures and stop the maching from damage?

Thanks

You can use homing and soft limits.

Soft limit will prevent the machine to move outside its range - provided no steps are lost in the process.
Soft limit require homing to be enabled.

Hard limit (physical switch on each extreme of all axis) will help in a run-away situation. You could add a switch below the spindle mount too which would trigger if it move too low/exit carriage.

Soft limit or hard limit (default usage) would not have stopped what you experienced.
You could connect a smoke detector to a relay which could cut power if smoke is detected.

Bottom line - No backup system is perfect.
Never leave the CNC running unattended / monitored and have a fire extinguisher accessible.

It could also be worth while to review the surroundings of the CNC - in case of fire that there is nothing around it the the flames can migrate to.

2 Likes

Do you still have the boxes that the X-carve came in?

Can you explain?

Did the nut and pulley come off the Acme screw?
Any photos?