SVG errors loading

Hi there! I’m new to the X-Carve, but I have a Glowforge, so I’m not new to the use of .svg’s, but when I import files into Easel Pro, areas that are not supposed to be carved away are showing as though they are.
I’ve tried saving the files different ways, and even fully redrew files, but nothing is working.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here’s just one of the files I’m trying to get to work. As you can see, it wants to carve out everything, not just the background, and leave the letters and cake.

http://easel.inventables.com/projects/WRCmq51swzlbk7ph_AIVNQ

Link is no good.
Might help to share offending SVG as well.

Untitled.zip (177.4 KB)

You had everything set as fill, not sure you can do much with that file though. It needs to be separate elements and everything is combined as one.

http://easel.inventables.com/projects/dZOYNQG-_jbnz518KtK6Og

1 Like

1 Like

Thanks for all of your help, and info guys. I guess I’m just used to doing everything in one flat layer for the laser.
So if I understand correctly, on something like this, the cake and words would be a layer, the outline would be a layer, and the background would be a layer instead of a cutout, with nothing there?

Hey @MichaelKoske,
It’s not the layers that matter, it’s the paths. You need your detail to be a different path than the cloud surrounding it.
If you share your SVG again (looks like you removed those posts), I’ll show you what I did with the one I sent you.

Sure thing @NeilFerreri1, lemme see if I can figure out how I did that again.

You can just drag it into the reply.
They might come in REALLY small, and you can either change the dimensions in the tag or I’ll just know it’s there.

Cake Dreams badge

@MichaelKoske

Like mentioned above, a lot of your paths had issues. Here is a cleaned up version:

http://easel.inventables.com/projects/r89DfciH3y-le0H2Q_NuzQ