The use of vcarve on x carve help

hi so ive got my carve running ive used easel to move the machine already. i bought vcarve pro ages ago and have a number of projects lined up what i need to know is how to get my v carve programs to work on my 1000mm xcarve, i have grbl controller and have moved the machine up and down etc with it. im guessing there are some sort of parameters like easel has setup for x carve, so i dont crash the thing rails. if i could import my drawings into easel i would use it. im just very unsure of how to connect the two together and how to go about it. my experience in cnc, i work as joiner/cabinetmaker with use of commercial machines mainly as an operator an some programming. so its not all new to me. thanks matt

3 Likes

As a beginner my info is what i believe to be correct at this time. Yes there are settings you can see your settings by typing $$ as to the setting you need for x-carve i not sure the shapeoko 2 settings are on a wiki, but the X-Carve uses gbrl 9i and so not exactly the same. from what i’m learning
setting might differ depending on the Z threaded rod, stepper motors, size and proberley other stuff i have no knowledge about.

Hi,
I have Aspire which is the same company that makes v-carve so I believe what I am doing will work for you as well. Once you have created what you want to cut in v-carve create your toolpaths and save them, when you save them you need to select which post processor you want to use. Select the Shapeoko, if you don’t have the Shapeoko then you will need to install it.
Once you have created the toolpaths open up Universal G Code Sender (UGCS) and open the port your Arduino is on. From there I zero my spindle using the manual controls on the UGCS and the select the file tab on UGCS and select your toolpath. Then hit the button and off it goes.

4 Likes