Thickness of MDF on 1000mm

So I am new to woodworking in general and am very confused my dad cut a 3/4 inch piece of MDF and it does not fit Between the rails. The wheels block it from sliding in. we are confused because specs on website said 3/4 on 1000mm and 1/2 on 500mm. Pic

Are we missing something?

You better go back to instruction for work area. Looks like you missed that.

I’m sorry. But i don’t understand how putting the board on rails first changes the height clearance. What step should I be looking at.

I cut my own waste board as well, and I did it after I had most of the rest of the frame together. I just went about 3/16 shorter then the outside dimension of the makerslides, both front to back, and then side to side. I then slid it in front to back and it dropped in just fine. I had the x carriage almost all the way back. I still have to attach it to more of the rails, but for the testing I’m doing right now it works fine.

Oh, I had tried to slide it in from the side, at first, but it didn’t go.

Just a suggestion, but on mine, I wanted to add some T Slot hold downs as well as having the threaded holes, so I bolted my machine to a table, screwed the TSlots to the table, I then “filled” the spaces with MDF.

This means when replacing the waste board, I only replace the bits I’ve worn out, not the entire thing. Often, the replacements are just off cuts from other work. I also have vastly more options when clamping down odd shaped or sized jobs.

The dust shields are strips of polycarbonate hollow cell sheeting. Glue aluminium strips along the bottom, add a rare earth magnet each end, and they’re almost weightless, they clip in and out in a moment, and cost almost nothing.

BTW, these shots were during an upgrade, the finished product is vastly neater. As I say, it’s just a suggestion…

3 Likes