Total Newbie so please bare with me!

:slight_smile: i everyone so im a total newbie to cnc and easel software etc etc. Im 10 days in now (i realise that its going to be a few months until i stop making so many silly mistakes).
I have so far managed to make some signs with a vcarve bit and used compression to rough first etc, so i kind of understand some basic stuff (but it seems forever variables make a massive difference?) ive also made cut outs and experimented in simple shapes text polycarb aluminium etc .
The question i would like some help with is
“i took a japanese flag from the pro library design, added the super gradient app …it showed up on the easel preview exactly how i would have liked it to look but,having already given the bit sizes for roughing and detail. I decided to keep the work area small less than 120mm to save time and wood if it didnt work” “the long and short of it is it came out similar to the preview but nowhere near the detail of the flag and missed the fins of the main flag out, i then tried something less detailed still a japanese flag the image above< looked lovely on the preview but just didnt transpire into anything”
is this normal or is it user error and i need more practice. it took about 4hrs (probably longer ) !!:slight_smile: :rofl: :joy:
if anyone can point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated.
cnc oozenest z1 plus,makita router,amana bit 6.35 and the detail was a long pointy bit no name or brand 30 degree angle 3.175 shank from amazon . I have now ordered some angled jenny bits. Thank you
Simon

Easel - jap test.pdf (594.6 KB)
thought i would show the preview as well.
cheers

Did you surface the workpiece on the CNC prior to carving?