Turn off autosave

Hi,

It would be nice to have the option to turn off the auto save of a project. Although in most cases it’s a handy feature under some circumstances it would be a nice addition.

1 Like

Thanks @PhilJohnson !

Just for clarification here are my reasons.

1. We are on line of sight rural internet , unreliable and have a very low bandwidth and cap.

2. We are quoting on a deal that does not allow for data storage outside of Canada , this is not unheard of and I ran up against this issue a few times when I was a software developer. So I should be able to load it in Easel , carve it and not save it. Thus data never leaves Canada

3. Bit breaks part way through a carve, rather than carving everything again remove elements that have already been carved, but I don’t want these changes saved and I have forgotten to undo the removal of parts in the past.

Again I am not asking it be removed but rather be able to turn it off when required.

2 Likes

FYI - Sometimes a feature request is made for a specific reason, such as improving performance. We don’t always implement the exact feature requested, but take a wider view of what the user wants/needs and other ways that it might be addressed. We often make other changes to achieve the same goal. In cases where users wanted to improve the responsiveness of Easel by disabling autosave, in many cases the autosave was not the true cause of slowness being experienced. (The save happens in the background.) We made many other changes to improve the responsiveness of Easel while designing in Q4 of last year, in particular: improvements to the timeout of the automatic 3D preview generation, and performing 3D preview and tool path simulations on worker threads.

There are definitely other reasons users have asked for autosave that we haven’t addressed directly yet. We do appreciate the feedback and it does flow into our product development process.