UGS - Classic or Platform

Well I finally pulled the pin and ordered VCarve Pro yesterday, from inventables. Now I just have to wait for the USB stick to arrive.
While waiting, I figured I would play around with UGS in preparation. I am very new to the CNC world, but feel that i pick up things fast.

Which version would you guys recommend. If its important, I do plan on doing actual 3D carving.

I understand that the classic is stable, and less likely to give me issues. But Platform seems to be quite a bit dfferent. Since for me, I am completely learning to use new softwar, it seems redundant to learn an older version then relearn the newer. If I go with Platform, what build would you recommend, to give the fewest issues out of the gate.

Thanks all.

I prefer the nightly Platform build.

The interface is awesome and the recently redone DRO is nice.

1 Like

I just installed the latest nightly build for Platform. I’ve installed the latest 64bit java. The program comes up.
I’m using a Windows 7, 64bit

I used the setup wizard, set to the same setting for my controler, as from the device manager.

1. GRBL
  2. 9600
  3. Com4

It says connecting, then it says the setup wizard is not supported for this controller.

It is connected in some way to the controller. If I hit the connect/disconnect button, it will says in the console, that it is connected on com4 at 9600 baud.
If I hit the button again to disconnect, it says connection closed in the console and I hear a noise from the xcarve stepper.

Any help please.

Another little tidbit.
While it says its connected, I just tried to send a $H command in the consonle.
It comes up with an Error “Grbl is not finished booting.”

I don’t think that is the correct bad rate.

115200 is the baud rate for the controller.

That is the baud rate in my device manager, that easel has been working with no problem.