Universal GCode Sender for Dummies?

I’m New to the X-Carve and Easel. I’ve used Easel enough to realize that I hate it, it feels like I’m working with MS Paint. I have other options for creating GCode, and I would prefer to send the G-Code to the X-Carve using Mach 3, but I’ve learned that I have to change out the GRBL in order to do that. I’m afraid to dive into that project until I’ve explored my other options. I keep reading about the Universal GCode Sender, and so I thought I would try that. Are there any tutorials out there to explain to a Dummy how to use it? I find Mach 3 to be very intuitive and easy to use, but UGS doesn’t seem user friendly at all. For example, If I just want to determine if my part is within the bounds of my workspace, how can I do that? I’ve searched for videos to go over the basics of UGS, but can’t find anything.

3 Likes

Here is the main link to the UGS web page:

Here is a link to a nice Youtube video showing how to use SketchUp, MakerCam, Universal Gcode Sender.

1 Like

AllenMassey, thank you. If you wanted to physically verify using UGS the boundaries of the part to make sure you stayed within the material and work space, do you know how you would do that?

make sure you use the 2.0 nightly build and not v1.08

2.0 works much better. had nothing but trouble with 1.08

as far as boundary of your work area, does your part fit within your x carve wasteboard? id think you would set up the part work space in whatever cad program you are using. UGS simply sends the gcode to the machine.
you can set soft and hard limits in grbl which will stop your machine from going to far but other than that im not understanding the question

UGS knows nothing about the machine or the part you are making, it is simply sending the gcode to the controller.

However Grbl (which is the code running on your Arduino controller) does know what you have told it about your machine and what the gcode is directing it to do.