Using an arduino and gshield to run some bigger drivers and motors: ie nema 34

I’m buy a larger router kit that will have nema 34’s with their own stepper drivers and power supplies. I’ve used the Xcarve unit that my son owns and was very happy with how the on-line Easel program ran his machine. Would it be possible to operate my larger build using the arduino and gshield with it’s command lines wired to the stand alone driver units? Or should I bite the bullet and purchase a real controller PCA?

Be gentle, I’m not a pro user here…

I normally run Linuxcnc and a Gecko G540 controller with my X-Carve. I wanted to give Easel a try so made up this device.
Running the X-Carve via grbl with a Gecko G540 controller

It’s based on a cncshield, mostly because I had one on hand. It does work although I must admit I haven’t fully finished it as yet - still have home/limit switch configurations to sort out, plus I’ve been busy just using the X-Carve in it’s normal configuration.
So it’s doable as long as you’re able to work out the required control signals.

@StephenLedak

Short answer - most likely you can.

You don’t need the gShield as it is just a stepper motor driver circuit controlled by the Arduino.

The Arduino (with grbl) supplies the step and direction pulses for your motor driver.

Arduino also handles homing/limit switches and a few other things.

There is some router control capability depending on the router you use.

Yes. You don’t even need a Gshield to do this, just the Arduino. Though if you had some kind of shield board to solder into it would be much easier. Especialy if you needed to replace the Arduino for any reason.

Here is one that is made to have stepper diver boards installed. In your case leave the chips out and just tap into the control lines.
http://www.elecrow.com/cooperated-designers-c-127/protoneer-c-127_168/cnc-shield-for-arduinogrbl-compatible-p-778.html