vCarve Pro Mac Alternatives?

I’ve been looking into different software packages and vCarve Pro seems one of the best for the price range on the Windows side but I was wondering if anyone knew of any Mac Alternatives.

I got Fusion 360 for free through the App Store on my mac

I use MeshCAM on mac. Not the same features as V-Carve (specifically, no actual v-carving), so I’m not sure if you’d call it an alternative (if that’s what you’re after), but if you want to carve full 3d models, it’s been working pretty well.

You could run V-Carve on a Virtual Machine using Paralles, like Robert mentioned, or an alternative is VMware. Both of these cost money, about 79 bucks each. You could also use VirtualBox, which is free.

For all these three solutions you need a valid Windows license.

Or you could just buy a cheap Windows machine,

I personally use VMware and everything works very well, no problems at all.

I have been using VCarve Pro for about 6 months - I have a short term evaluation licence from Vectric so that I can do my X-Carve work.

I can run VCarve Pro on my $200 (when new) rubbish mini notebook that is stuck on Window XP. That notebook had no future until the X-Carve arrived and it is now dedicated to the X-Carve and lives in the workshop - it is very happy there as it can chat to the other tools when I am not looking and I think it may be having an affair with one of the routers !

So for the sake of a few dollars spent on a second hand or bottom of the range notebook, go for the excellent VCarvePro. I am not knocking the Mac in any way but it is the simple answer.

Peter

1 Like

With the added capability of easel to import vcarve gcode files. I have a virtualbox save it to drop box then cut using native mac. Less issues with dropped connections via USB