VESA Monitor stand design and bits

My X-Carve is on order and a few days ago the stand for an old 19" monitor broke, so a CNC cut VESA monitor stand seems like a good early project. The 4 mounting holes in the stand should apparently be M4.

I’d like to have the X-Carve cut out the pieces as well as drill the holes. I’m planning to make this out of 3/4" thick material (MDF for test, plywood for real). The bits that will come with my X-Carve are 1/4" diameter which is too big to drill the holes, it seems like I’ll want a set of 1/8" bits to have around.

Can anyone recommend a good starter set of 1/8" diameter bits which have a cutting depth of at least 3/4"? I’ll need flat bottom as well as a bit that can drill through holes.

Is a 1/8" bit for 3/4" ply reasonable as an all purpose project bit or is it too fragile and I should stick with 1/4" whenever possible? It seems like the 1/8" would require much less dog-bone and would produce more attractive results, but I’m brand new at this.

Thanks

1/8 with 1/4 shank given it has enough cutting depth should be just fine. I use a 1/8 4 flute HSS bit for contours since it produces a lot less waste. I use 2500mm/m, 1.5mm DOC and it cuts like butter.

1 Like

Do you have a favorite source for one of these? Most of my regular router bits have a 1/2" shank.

I started to question whether a 1/8 diameter bit with a cutting length of 3/4" was too fragile or not because I don’t see 1/8" with 3/4" cut length available at woodworking stores.

@StevePrior i got the 1/8 from ebay: 1 8 x 1 4 HSS Straight Shank 4 Flute End Mill Cutting Tool W8 for sale | eBay

All my other bits im buying form Torbide Tooling, great service and very good cutting tools:
http://torbidetooling.com/