Way in over my head

I purchased an X-Carve from a guy on Facebook. I’m a newb and have many, MANY questions but I’ll start with one about the stepper motors. He upgraded the motors to the ones I have pictured.

But the power cables he gave me seem to go to the original stepper motors.

I’m not sure if he forgot to give me a box but these are the only cords. Can anyone point me in the correct direction on how these should be wired to the X-Controller?

(I also have a question about how I’m supposed to attach the RoverCNC z-axis assembly to the chassis but I’ll create another post for that)

Yes those are the original stepper motor wires, the white plastic side plugs into the stepper motors and then the other end is individual plugs that go into the back of the XController. Does the XController have the green terminals on the back?
I dont know anything about stepper motors and if those will even work. There are a few guys on here that may know, @SethCNC visits the forum regularly and can probably answer some of the questions.

Russell

Thank you for your reply. The female plugs are on the back of the X- controller. I would have to see if I have the male part that is supposed to plug into it.

He also gave me these

Does each stepper motor have to connect to one of these to have its own power supply? If that’s the case then I wouldn’t know how to connect these to the X-Controller and how to connect the stepper to these. Or maybe these are just extras he purchased for the X-Controller.

When I bought this I assumed it would be plug and play for me since he had already set everything up but that has not been the case :rofl:

Those motors have integrated drivers. How are the ones on the machine wired?

1 Like

They are the same motors on the machine and they are not wired to anything yet.

Stepper mounted on Y-axis

The original pictured motor is for the Z-axis which I have not installed yet