What gcode sender for 3d carve

OK so I’m totally new to this (as in my first cnc has yet to be delivered) and I’m trying to get a handle on 3d carving workflow. I have aspire and have designed a few projects. I got the xcarve PP for aspire, and have exported my toolpaths. Now I just need to figure out the sender. Is there a difference between UGS and grbl controller? Are there any other senders I should know about? Thanks for the help

UGS and Chilipeppr (http://chilipeppr.com/grbl) are both popular with users on this board. I haven’t heard of grbl controller before, but it seems roughly on-par with UGS. Chilipeppr has a more advanced user interface, and support for features like a z-zero touchplate. My recommendation is that you give all three a try (they’re free, after all), and let us know which one you end up with :smile:

[sidenote - I was trying to find images of the UI for grbl controller and universal gcode sender. Running a google image search for UGS did not return what I thought it would ;)]

Is there a way to add a touch plate to the xcarve?

Inventables is in the process of coming out with an official product, hopefully they’ll have something to share soon. Grbl supports a “probe” on analog pin 6 of the Ardunio, so in the meantime you can wire up something yourself, like this (click on the arrow in the upper right to go to the thread):

Awesome. Thanks for the info. I already have some projects that have multiple toolpaths including tool changes and I was wondering about accurately re zeroing the machine. I think i’m going to try that.

I was working on a project today in Easel and used the “use last home position” button. I had to rerun the job 8 times and it worked with no offset.

You should be able to achieve the same thing with UGS or Chilipeppr but I’ve never tried it myself.

1 Like

When you select the “use last home position” do you need to reset the zero?