What is the name of this plastic and is it best to carve, laser etc?

Hello,
I need to make some simple placards like this. I was wondering what is the name of this plastic. Its some plastic laminent it seams. NOt sure if its best to do it with a 6W laser or with a bit?

Thanks in advance.

I worked in a hospital print shop in high school and used the pantograph-style machine to make these, I am not sure if the material was HDPE back then, but the Inventables store has HDPE available with black-on-white:

I doubt the laser would work well with this, and it’s likely to produce toxic fumes, your best bet is a very small engraving bit.

Ahh, nice. Looks like that one there is textured though.

I was lookingat this video and it seams like they are able to cut that with laser. Fast fwd to 5min mark. :

This is what I buy from mmc to make labels at work McMaster-Carr

Sweet, thanks! How do you cut it? V bit then carve the edges with another bit?

I use a 60deg vbit .125" diam. .02" deep to engrave and the same bit .061" deep to cut it out… the vbit gives it a nice beveled edge I also just use double sided masking tape from mmc to hold it down

Since this is an x-Carve forum I assumed your question was in regard to the lasers available for the XC (e.g. JTech Photonics), the Trotec speedy series are CO2 lasers, and likely a 60W in the video example.

I can’t speak to how well the Jtech laser would engrave HDPE, perhaps someone who uses one regularly can comment…

There is a 6W laser on the market i noticed and ive seen videos of it etching steel. Wondering if that would be able to cut a small 1/8" abs plastic sign like in the video with a few passes being that i saw it cut wood with a few passes.

Maybe ill just try a regular bit at first, if that works then great. Don thave my x carve yet, its in the mail. Just asking questions .

THanks