X-Carve dust collection

Curious question. I been reading a lot about the dust boot from “Suck-It” and was wondering everyone’s thoughts. I know you can’t make up my mind for me but I wanted to make an educated purchase. So the “Suck-It” or should I try and create one? Has anyone had good results from the “Suck-It?” Mind you I have no prior CAD experience.

Thanks everyone. :grinning:

Although the suckit does look like a high quality dust boot I would highly suggest looking at @PhilJohnson’s thread about his dust shoe design. I think it improves on some of the design flaws of the suckit and you’ll spend about a quarter of the price making it as you would buying the pre-fab one.

1 Like

I’ve had a good experience with the SuckIt dust boot. Paired with a Oneida Dust Deputy and a 5 gallon bucket from Lowe’s, it’s a great mini dust collection system.

Edit: The X Carve is my first CNC experience as well. If you’re comfortable enough making one, I’d go that route, but you can learn a lot from buying one as well.

I made my own long before the Suck-it. It was a good exercise to learn how to go from SketchUp to Easel, and to just experiment in general. It’s not as good as the Suck-it in many ways (height moves with spindle, MDF vs. acrylic, etc.), but it was a great early project. Even if you order one, I’d recommend trying to make one of your own just to get into the thought process.

One good thing about making your own is that you are less hesitant to modify it. I’ve recently drilled a hole into it to attach an endoscope (not shown in picture), something I’d hesitate to do if I paid big $$$.

2 Likes

So maybe I’ll purchase the “Suck-It” and still try my hand at designing one. I really need to find a good project to get my feet wet in Fusion 360. I think I’m going to start using that since it’s free. V-Carve and Aspire look awesome but they are pretty pricey as well.

Also my bad for going off subject.

Thanks for the replies though, much appreciated. :grinning: