X-Carve Homing Issue

Hi,
I’m a newbie and this is my second weekend with the X-Carve. I love it, though I have a steep learning curve. I pulled down the Grocery List Board tutorial from V-Carve since I am trying out the program. I think I am having a homing issue, though I am sure that I am doing something wrong. I pulled all 3 G-Code files into a new project. Set up my machine, homed it, homed the material, set everything else and ran the first path. That worked fine. Jump to the second path, used the same saved homing setting, switched bits, and then reset the z-axis for the cleanup bit. When the machine starts cutting it’s offset by about 1.5" to the right. I can’t figure it out. I must say that that I thought when I started the second cut that the machine would first go back to the material homing 0, which it did not. Do I need to manually bring it back to it’s starting point? That doesn’t make sense to me, because if I have to reset the homing to the material I surely would not hit the same point. Not that I am aware, but perhaps I moved the machine on the X-axis when I switched bits? That’s really the only plausible explanation I have right now. Machine has been running just fine. Thanks for replying!
Stefan

Pretty easy to do. Have you set $1 = 255? the X-controller also has a built in torque reduction that can be disabled. the combination of those two things will make the motors better able to hold their position during a tool change. You can always re-home between jobs.

Depending on the post processor, it will usually just go to where it needs to to start the carve.

So the $1 = 255 needs to be set every time, or just once? And I would do that in Easel correct? I think I saw the programming page somewhere when I explored the UI in Easel.

I am not sure about the rehoming. If I rehome wouldn’t I risk not getting back to the original 0. I am probably misunderstanding what you mean.