X Carve Rotary Carving

I am just starting to look into getting an X Carve. I have no experience with CNC routers, however I do have a CO2 laser. My main business is custom woodworking and I would love to have the ability to carve turned pieces.

I have seen a few forums about this but frankly very little makes sense to me. I don’t know CNC software, terms or anything.

Can someone explain to me, exactly what would be entailed in getting set up with the X Carve to carve on a rotary axis? Hardware, software etc.

I do have a rotary attachment for me Full Spectrum Laser, might that be able to be used?

Thanks for any advise.

The rotary attachment for your laser would not be powerful enough to serve as a rotary axis for CNC woodworking. However, the rotary for the laser is the same concept as what happens with a CNC.

I bought the Sherline rotary attachment and its matching live center. I still have yet to do any true rotary work.

You will need software that can create tool paths for the 4th Axis. Vectric software can do that, but you will need to buy up to the higher end of their software. Vectric V Carve desktop is not capable of 4th Axis.

One thing to consider is that the rotation of the stock must fit below the maximum Z height (how high the router and bit can be raised above the bed). It may not be enough to turn out fancy cabrio legs for a stool.

I still do 3D, two sided carving where the stock is flipped over during carving. I’ve seen some designs that do 4 sided carving which achieves much of what true 4th Axis promises. The X Carve with 4th axis might be an affordable way to find out if 4 Axis carving is for you. If you need to go bigger, there are higher end machines out there built with 4th Axis in mind.