X-Controller Z-Axis socket causes very partial turns

X-axis works fine, Y1 and Y2 work fine

The Z-axis will, when testing the wiring and using the arrow buttons to move it step-by-step, it’ll do maybe like a 1/16th turn either direction.

I searched this forum and found someone had a similar but not the same problem, and I switched the Y2 and Z wires on the controller. When I tested the Y, the Y2 side did the same thing. Motor did about a 1/16th turn on the Y2.

So I conclude that the Z axis socket in the controller is messed up somehow, but since I’m not experienced I’m not sure how to fix this.

Call Inventables. It may be a failing stepper driver chip.

Did you check the jumper (steps) for you Z.

Take a picture of the jumpers and post it here so we can see if they are in the wrong positions.

I think these are the wires you guys are talking about?

I’m working on this with my dad, who did most of the building and I stood next to him haha, so I’m not entirely sure if this is it.

The picture we are asking is the switchsame inside. Like these ones

Like this?

I just realized the dials aren’t set to the same as the diagram, should I do that?

Don’t worry about the dials yet, we need the steps first. The dials are motor current.try moving switchs then move them back. Un plugged of course. Try that.

Have you set up in easel yet? Post “$$” settings

Resetting the switches didn’t work, problem still persists.

And no, I haven’t gotten past much in the setup yet for Easel, only the machine details. I’m still stuck on the wiring test for each axis since the Z doesn’t move, and the limit won’t work with it either.

Does z move at all, if so try easel set up.

Z doesn’t move at all, the motor doesn’t even do a full turn. If I change the Z and Y2 wires, the Y2 will do the same. I assume the same for the others if plugged into the Z socket.

Try to setup in easel. Z moves, but just a partial turn?