Y axis carve going off path?

Hi there, I’m new to CNC routers and have bought a Mostics 3018 pro to learn on. It came with Candle but I couldn’t get to grips with that so I’m trying out Easel. Last week it was working just fine but this week the Y axis is going about 1.5 inch off track for no discernible reason.

It started when I put in a 1/4 inch 60 degree V carve bit for a project and the spindle went down too fast and too deep, burning a black hole in my wood, no matter what speed and feed setting I put it on. I changed back to the original 1/8 inch bit that came with the machine and the depth/speed is now fine but the carve comes forward too much no matter where I position the wood.

The spindle works just as it’s told when I jog it and I’ve made sure the wood is secure and straight. There is nothing blocking the X/Y/Z axis or machine bed. I’ve also unplugged/replugged it, tried a different USB port and reset the machine in Easel.

Any advise for a newbie would be welcome. Thank you :slight_smile:

when you did the “machine setup” which machine did you select?

You may need to reset your GRBL settings for the 3018 and I would also recommend checking out James Dean Design’s 3018 playlist over on youtube. It’s a great place for any new 3018 owner to start.

I selected 3rd party ‘Other’ and put in the work area as they didn’t have ‘Mostics’ as an option.
Thank you for the link, I’ve seen a few of his videos (how I found out about Easel) and will check out his others too.

How do you reset the GRBL settings?

1 Like

That’s the way I’d also enter a 3018, so the machine setup should have been fine…

Record your current settings: go to machine>general settings>machine inspector and scroll to the bottom… record all those first!!