Z-Axis depth limits

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this, so I was hoping someone could help answer if the X Carve would be able to create one of the projects I have in mind, with my one concern being the Z Axis plunge depth. I would like to use the machine to create boxes out of a solid block of wood 3" tall. The cuts would be <= 2.25" deep.

I know that this depth exceeds the workspace dimensions of the system (2.6"), but that there are also some solutions for increasing the workspace height (Need more Z cutting heigth, say 6" - #11 by AaronMatthews). I would probably use the approach of fastening the waste board under the bottom rail instead of on top of it, and hopefully increase my usable height by .5-1.0".

My concern is that even if I create an extra .5-1.0" of usable height by lowering the board that the spindle mount will be too low and still interfere with the milling, that the spindle won’t be able to come down close enough to the block, or that the drill bits will be too short.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks!

One aspect of your plan to consider is the length the bit sticks out of the collet. Unless I’m missing something, cutting to a 2.25" depth means the bit must stick out farther than that. It might be possible if you use a router that will hold up to a 1/2" diameter bit to help reduce wobble (chatter).

In the above case, the spindle (router) will need a clearance of about 6" above the base of your CNC to account for your material and the bit length.