Z axis height after probing

I am using Charlie’s zeroing block. If I am carving some thicker stock and I zero the Z axis, after probing it retracts to high up to my homing switch. Is there a way to change a setting that wll have it retract like .25 of an inch or so? Zeroing works great, just retracts to high.
I use Charlies program and use picsender. The safe Z on picsender is set at .25
Older 1000 mm X-Carve with X-contoller using picsender.
I am sure I am missing something.

I am still learning about gcode. I guess I will just have to play some of the values

Post the macro string that you are running. It should contain a command to trigger the retract and you should be able to adjust that amount to whatever youd like it to be.

1 Like

There’s a line similar to this:

“G91 G0 ZX.xx”

But be careful. Charley most likely sets this assuming that you’ve got at least the entire block to travel plus additional movement to clear the top before moving the bit over. These are relative moves so it moves the set distance from wherever it is.

You can lower the value but have to be careful of how deep you put the bit against the plate.

That’s also a way you can work around this: put the bit as close to the surface as you can and so when it does the Z motion, it won’t go as high

1 Like

Hi Patrick,

The g-code that zero’s all three axis is set up so that no matter how low your bit is when you start the sequence, it will retract high enough to clear the touch plate before moving over the top to zero the Z Axis. It is set to raise the Z axis 0.8 inches up before moving over the top of the touch plate. If you hare having a problem with it retracting too high due to thicker material and a limited amount of Z Axis travel, there are a couple of things you can try.