Z Axis Not Holding position

I submitted a ticket yesterday for my Z axis not holding position when carving. I have included pics and videos for the ticket to show the carving head dropping during jog procedures, along with pictures of failed carves and a broken bit as a result of the Z axis dropping during a carve and not retracting high enough at the end of the carve. The ticket was escalated to engineering and I have not heard back in over 24 hours for updates or additional troubleshooting procedures. I reached out in a reply to the ticket earlier in the day around noon…EST… no reply. I suspect the stepping motor as the failure, but I am not an expert by far. I emailed support again today about trying any recommended actions regarding troubleshooting… no reply. Very disappointed in this lack of reply, especially going into the weekend with jobs in play that need the X-Carve Pro for processing. Crickets for a reply is not acceptable as a response to the system being down for inaccurate carve requests. My test is for a .3" carve on a 1" square and the Z axis drops during the carve and produces a .428" carve in 3 passes with a .10 request produces .428 pocket is not a profitable scenario. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have enjoyed the system thus far, and I look forward to utilizing it to it’s fullest capacity going forward.

Mike

1 Like

Can you post something here?
A pocket being carved too deep could be caused by any number of things. The more info you share, the easier to diagnose.

Thanks Neil! I hope this helps a little. The tension on the drive belt is pretty stout, IMHO.

Hey Mike, When you perform a manual movement does the amount commanded equal the actual amount moved? IF not then the $102 setting was likely changed when you performed the Machine Setup in Easel.