Z probe setup

Hello… so I finally was able to finish my Xcarve assembly (1000mm) and running through the easel setup I cannot seem to get through the z probe setup screen… insert to carriage, put clamp on spindle collet and then touch disc to collet… I do not get anything from here… also had a question about the spindle being setup for auto (dewalt 611) but thats a wurstion for later I guess… very new to this !! Clearly !!

2 Likes

So with my probe plugged in the screen still says no contact even with the probe plugged in. But if I unplug it it says contact. And nothing happen when I touch the plate to the bit? So with out the probe setup I can’t 0 out my bit before my cut? I’m getting frustrated and losing patience.

I’m getting the same results as you. With the probe plugged in clamp on spindle collet and easel still says no contact? I’m new to this too.

After you plug it in and attach the clip the next step it will prompt you to touch the probe to the bit. Did you actually touch the plate to the bit?

Yes, Im actually on the initial startup/calibration stage… its a bit frustrating but Im only a day into having this thing built so Im just hoping its an easy fix

Hi Steve, thanks for the reply. Yes I plug the Z probe in, attach clamp to collet nut and touch the plate to the collet and nothing… Ive even tried with a bit in the collet. Looks like others have had the same issue as Im having.

Just to add some clarification in case it wasn’t clear, when you get through the settings and it asks for contact, you do have to physically pick up the collet and hold it to the bit so that it’s physically touching for a couple of seconds until you see the circle turn green on the computer to indicate that contact has been detected.

Outside of that, this may be obvious but have you gone back and checked every connection where you connected the z-axis wiring to the various control points to be certain that they’re all connected and tightly?