Anyone know how to make a spindle speed display

Hi All
One thing I would like to do is to be able to see what rpm my spindle is running at via an LCD display as I will have a spindle speed controller attached in line.

I imagine it should be possible, but I am a CNC and Arduino noob so any advice or links to plans would be helpful.

Thanks

Looks like someone has done it…

If you use a VFD spindle, the VFD will display the speed on the control panel.

The Super-PID controller for speed controlling routers has a display. The way it knows the speed is by monitoring an optical sensor that detects a spot of white paint on your spindle’s collet/rotating shaft. The idea is that it counts the number of times it sees the white paint and divides it by how long it’s been counting. So maybe it counts the number of rotations in 2 seconds and then divides that number by 2, that’s rotations per second. Then it multiplies that number by 60 to get RPM; though it’d be faster to calculate RPM by multiplying the counts in 2 seconds by 30, or multiply counts in 1 second by 60, etc. You’ll have to play with those numbers yourself to get a readout that’s as accurate/smooth/responsive as you’d like. Though, in theory, the speed would be fairly consistent so those changes might not make much of a difference. The biggest hurdle is figuring out how to monitor the rotations of your spindle. An optical sensor is probably a good bet. What speed controller are you using?

Check this out:

Thanks Erik, will look into this.

Thanks Nathan

Shop by Category | eBay.

Interesting option, but not really what I was after as I would like a continuous readout.