Bobscnc switching x and y

I have a bobscnc evolution 4 and you probably know he has x and y set up backwards. Can someone help me with step by step directions on how to switch it to how normal machines work please. I defiantly mean no disrespect for the company, it’s just not how I want to use the router. I use easel pro to design my projects and UGS to run the machine. The router is stock.

1 Like

I have never seen a “bobscnc evolution 4”, but can’t you just switch the connections at the controller? Is it a grbl machine?

It’s a grbl but it has a self squaring gantry with two steppers and the x2 and the z limit switches are wired together. It has to have the software changed also somehow. I think lol.

1 Like

Does Bob’s CNC share their grbl config?

Looks like you’d just need to enable the dual axis and set it to use the Y_Axis.
I don’t know what your controller looks like, but I bet it’s a cheap shield. You’ll have to change it to have the 4th driver control the second Y, rather than X.

Why’s he do that? Seems pointless.

1 Like

No he wouldn’t help with it at all. He will only send out the way he wants it. I asked if he could send me it the normal way and he said no.

1 Like

This is how he wants us to use it. Sideways. I want to set it up so the gantry is to the back not the side.
project_oriented_on_machine_549afb22-5b79-451e-88b6-8c6d8532dac5_large

1 Like

Do you want the dual axis feature?
If so, just swap X and Y at the board and use grbl with the modifications I mentioned above. If not, you can just swap X and Y at the board and adjust the jumpers to clone the Y axis on A.