Close to purchasing an x carve, opinions on what to get?

I’m looking to order an x carve in the next week. It would be used for milling parts from aluminum and carbon fiber. I have zero experience using a cnc of any type and because of this, I don’t know what my best upgrades would be.

Now assuming a budget of 1600-1800, and purchasing a new 1000mm x carve. What add ons should I do, and which should I avoid for my uses?

Is the dewalt 611 enough or a different router?
Is the waste board worth it?
Milling bits?

I greatly appreciate any help!

8 eccentric spacer you may need instead of eccentric nuts. lot more easier to adjust v-wheels.

DW611 is very good choice in my opinion.

Starter bit set is .125" and enough for you for now. So you may need to order either Colette or Colette adapter because DW611 have .25" Colette. Follow this link.

Elaire or Precise Bits Collet for my DeWalt 611?.

Waste board is heavy and expensive to ship. It is nice but ordering is your decision.

Also you need DC to AC relay to activate your DW611 automatically. You can find plenty enough info by searching this forum.

When you finish installing, check to see what other people doing for stiffing your axis rails ETC.
Consider buying or making Dust Shoe to keep yourself breath easier.

Go slow from beginning to install to all the way carving process. Take small steps and use search engine in this forum.
We’re always here to help.
Good luck.

I skipped the waste board and got a sheet of MDF from Home Depot. Take a look around the forum for stiffening mods and do them as you assemble your machine. You will want at least the 60 minute mod and some type of y axis stiffening with the 1000mm if you want to do aluminum. Also go for the NEMA 23s, the ACME screw Z axis and the X Controller if they are in your budget. @PhilJohnson types faster than I do :smile:

1 Like

Get the big one.

Also, If you’re milling carbon fiber, a real respirator and dust collector would be my number one purchase.