DC comics aztec style calender

Hey everyone I’m not sure if I’m posting in the correct place but I just wanted to share my own design on the dc comics calender created by sandy eggo. (Thanks for the inspiration sandy)

It took me about 3 days to design although I was using a software iv never used before so i probably spent more time on google than the actual software haha.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated because I have never done anything like this before.

5 Likes

I got it machined in about an hour and its 350mm diameter but the symbols and small details need making bigger but overall not bad for a first attempt.

1 Like

6 Likes

Fantastic job! Well done!

1 Like

Terrific!! Great use of the characters … all feels very cohesive. My son hopes you eventually share the file but understandable if not given the time and effort put into it.

2 Likes

Thanks for the kind words, starwars and the avengers next

1 Like

Looks awesome! the ones that are currently available take along time to carve especially the Marvel one.

I tried the marvel one and it took quite a lot longer than this one, it was the marvel one I first found which started my obsession with making my own lol

I have just carved another one but this time I made the symbols around the inner circle much bigger but the problem I’m having is some of the small details are breaking off. I tried a brand new v bit and slowing my feeds down with no luck, any ideas on what I can try?

How deep are you cutting? This may want a narrower v bit … like a 60 or 45 versus a 90.

I’m cutting max 10mm but the areas its breaking off are 5-7mm deep. I’m using a 60 degree bit so i may try a 45 degree bit

Is 7 mm about a quarter of an inch? That feels deep for fine detail. Will be curious as others weigh in.

Is the material MDF?