Experimental "X-Draw" Build – 1800mm x 2500mm

Hi All,
I am a professor teaching experimental/algorithmic drawing at an art and design college. I am going to attempt to modify the X-Carve to function as a massive drawing/painting machine (X-Draw?). The size has to be 1800mm x 2500mm for the project. The good news is that since we will only be using paint markers, there will be very little weight and friction on the gantry.

Here’s what I imagine are the big hurdles:

1. Joining Makerslide lengths (I’ve read about these issues throughout the forum. Thanks!)
  2. Wire resistance? Will I need different cable/wires at this length? What would happen if I used the same cable/wires?
  3. Belt tension? Will this be a problem? Suggestions?

Any other issues I’m missing?
Is X-Carve the best route, or is there another kit that would better suit the project?
Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks to everyone in the forum – I have already learned a ton and haven’t even started.

I’d bet it would be doable, since your effective spindle load will be near zero, and the weight ON the frame will be again near zero. You’ll definitely want to add the stiffening bar on the gantry as you build it, and some mid-frame supports on the Y-rails, but I’ll bet you could do it. Belts I wouldn’t worry too much about, since again your backpressure is going to be very near zero…

Should be darn cool!

Thanks so much for the notes so far.
The minimum drawing area will need to be 61"x82", but hoping to be able to go a few inches larger. Planning to use the extra large paper typically used for backdrops in photo shoots (it’s actually good quality for drawing). Also, primed cotton canvas mounted to board.

My guess is the accuracy only needs to be somewhere around .0325" at most, so I guess I’m safe.

OK. I’m going to put together a shopping list and may ask a couple of more questions about lengths needed before I dive in.
Thanks again.