Greetings from a newbie in Texas

Good morning all, I ordered my X-Carve 1000 on the black Friday deal and I’m anxiously awaiting it’s arrival! I am new to this type of tool but not new to woodworking. I am Mechanical Engineer during the day so the design part really drew me in. I’m looking forward to getting to know some of you guys and further exploring the forum! Just wanted to introduce myself while I wait! Also, if any of you guys have any suggestions of things I should be gathering while I wait I would love to hear them. It seems like my machine should show up somewhere around Christmas time.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. Go through the build instructions several times so you are familiar with the process when you start. Read as much on this forum as you can. Take notes, if you are not familiar with cnc the amount of information can be daunting. Use the Search function before asking a general question. When you have specific questions (and you will!) provide as much info as you can, pics are great. You can also get familiar with Easel wile you wait.

2 Likes

I am in the same boat as you. Awaiting my new xcarve 500mm.

1 Like

Bits. So many bits! Think about the sorts of projects you think you are going to make and start acquiring bits to accomplish them with. Oh, and pretty wood. And masking tape and superglue (and actual hold-down clamps, obviously :roll_eyes:).
Your woodworking and mechanical engineering background will serve you well. I’m sure you already have some great ideas brewing.

Do you have a workspace setup? You might want to start thinking about where you will put your machine if you haven’t already.

1 Like

So I am looking at bits on Amazon. What kind of bit for carving wood signs

1 Like

I confess I don’t do a lot of signs. I do weird things. But from what I can see of these who do carve signs, 90° V bit seems pretty common… maybe a 60°? I don’t know.