New to CNC looking to make a shaped cutting board

Hello everyone. Looking to make a cutting board this week in the shape of Pennsylvania. I’m very new to the CNC community and just wondering what’s the best bit to use to accomplish this task? Looking to use walnut probably with manual dewalt 611.

Thanks for your help

How thick is the Walnut and will the cutting board be a regular (side grain) or a end grain?

Sorry that was my fault with wording. A CNC machine

@PhilJohnson

Regular and 1 1/2" thick.

I meant my spindle was manual. Like I I said I’m very new at this. Learning and reading as I go. Just trying to dive in

Any type wood bit could cut it, but you will need a long bit about 2 1/2" (wood, little for play, in the collet). The more Flutes the better cut but the higher cost. But if you plan on rounding over the edge then the less sanding if the cut is not so clean.
I would consider the way I do it (and others), make the plan in Easel for cutting the full 1 1/2" deep, when your done hit the “Simulate” button, if too many hours consider cutting 1/2" or so deep and finish the cut with band saw or jig saw, then use a router with a flush trim bit.

Good luck and have fun

@SeanNaylor

Hey Sean

So there are many things to consider when selecting a tool for the job at hand

To name a few:

Machine capabilities
Spindle/collet size
Material
Time
Cost
surface finish
work holding
etc.

One thing to consider is the diameter of the tool versus the thickness of material being cut

A general rule of thumb is that you do not want to go more than x4 times longer than the tool is round

so if you have a 1/4" shaft/cutting diameter you generally dont want to go more than 1" in cutting length 1.25 might be okay

With the x-carve that you have you need to go slow and reduce to your depth of cut to something around .060" or less for the tool to operate correctly

So here is the end mill that I would recommend for you: