[solved] Cannot import gradients or clipping masks from SVG to Easel

Hey guys first I’d like to mention the first thing I always do is click that handy magnifying glass before posting anything. I found a few threads that I used to help. One in particular was this one ([solved] SVG Import Scaling Issue)

They mention changing the Pixels per inch to 72, so I tried doing that. I also found Phil’s solution for coreldraw but no mention about adobe illustrator.

Anyways here is my problem. I am trying to turn my logo into a sign using MDF. A 3 layered sign, so scaling is important as everything has to be the same size for when I glue the pieces. I opened up Illustrator and set my canvas size to 800mmx800mm since that is what the XCARVE can carve. I changed the pixels per inch to 72. But when I import the SVG it says the svg doesnt fit the scale and to scale it down, so I click yes, and my easel crashes. Here is a picture. I am still a noob with illustrator. I didn’t realize how different it was to photoshop (I use photoshop on a daily basis) Any help is appreciated. Hoping to have this all figured out for next week, when I get all of my bits.

Let’s see if we can break down the problem into parts.

Getting the right scaling from illustrator

In Illustrator, I created a new document with the default settings. I created a rectangle and typed in 1" x 1" for the dimensions. I saved it as an svg and imported into Easel. It imported as a 1" x 1" square, so Easel should be fine importing documents from illustrator by default. Can you replicate this by doing those steps and confirm that there is no difference between our Illustrator versions?

SVG fit to scale
Easel will prompt you to resize an SVG if it is larger than the work area. Make sure that you have your work area set and if you think the dimensions are right and do not want to scale, click “Cancel” instead of “Ok”.

Illustrator SVG crashing in Easel