This assembly process is completely assanine!

I’ve been installing/assembling products for well over 30 years and have never had a product where I had to do absolutely EVERYTHING. There’s always components that are pre-assembled where specialized knowledge or tools might be necessary. This has been true for electronics, cars, firearms, everything.

After making it through most the assembly process, I come to the part where I need to solder pins onto the gshied board. Why this isn’t done at the factory is baffling to me. This is something where experience matters.

I’m no electronics expert and have never soldered anything in my life. I now have a gshied with 3 pins soldered together that I can’t get apart.

This whole process has been completely frustrating after having stripped screws come from the factory, having to tap holes that were not done properly at the factory and now this.

I haven’t even been able to plug this damn thing in and I’m ready to throw it off a bridge!

1 Like

I don’t feel that Inventables has ever marketed this product as a plug and play system or even partially assembled. There are a plethora of videos showing exactly what comes in the box and how to put it together, including the Inventables official instructions, which are available even prior to anyone purchasing.

I can understand that some of the assembly process is frustrating and I may have had less problems than most, but I never felt that I was mislead.

Good luck to you, and I hope you can get your X-Carve up and running!

P.S. If you have a solder bridge between two or more pins you should be able to just take yous soldering iron, heat up the solder again on the pins and kind of wipe the excess off (with the soldering iron). Lots of times just using the soldering iron and re-heating the solder should rectify the solder bridge.

4 Likes

What Rusty said and this: