Water cooled spindle

2 part question actually 1) how many continuous hours does the x carve spindle work. 2) Can you use a water cooled spindle with the x carve?
Cheers
Bob
PS love the machine, cant wait to order one :smile:

@Zach_Kaplan and @BartDring mentioned in another thread that they actually have a water cooled spindle on one of their machine at Inventables. They mentioned this link at one point, Water Cooled VFD Spindle.

1. I assume you are talking about the 24VDC spindle. It is designed for a life of a couple hundred hours. This is similar brand name router motors.

2. I have a lot of experience with water cooled spindles and we have a 0.8kW one on a 1000mm X-Carve. 0.8kW is plenty for a machine like the X-Carve. We just use a water bucket and pond pump for cooling. The setup for these spindle is quite complicated and not for the total newbie.

I think a water cooled spindle will be one of my first upgrades I do to my machine. It will probably be because the stock spindle will become under powered for my needs, but until then I’m sure the stock spindle will be sufficient!

Zach Kaplan linked to a 1.5k spindle. I asked about weight and was told you are running a water-cooled spindle in your shop - implying weight wasn’t an issue. So I ordered one. (it’s on the FEDEX truck for delivery today). Apparently a lot of other people did too - that spindle/vfd combo is now sold out on Amazon.

Now you’re saying you’re using a .8kw spindle in the shop.
Please tell me there is another X-Carve in your lab, and it is running a 1.5kw spindle.

@JoeMeyer. I can’t find that link. Can you add it to this thread. Some 1.5kW and 0.8kW have share the same housing.

We do not have a 1.5kW unit in our shop. By “plenty” I meant the 0.8kW has enough power.

See here for link ^^

That is bigger than we have used. Our spindle is 65mm diameter. Our VFD is 110VAC input too.

Where is the original post from Zach?

oh, that is the link that @Zach_Kaplan supplied (From THIS post).