"Waving" flag carve?

Hey everyone, I am a bit of a beginner with my x-carve and really haven’t used it to its full potential yet. I am wondering if its possible for this machine to create a “waving” effect similar to the one in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifTUPVc100

It seems like its something it should be able to handle, but I have no idea where to even start with programming that. I have not experimented with any of the 3d programs and I would imagine that is what would be needed. Any help is much appreciated!

That’s amazing!

@StevePrior did a sign like that. I bet he can explain how he did it.

@ZachOtten Not much to it in Fusion 360 which is what I’d use for something like this. Draw a rectangle, extrude. Create an angled plane, sketch your curve with arcs and/or splines, extrude. The glue up before the carve would take most of the effort.
I’m happy to help out more if you go that route.

1 Like

Yeah, pretty easy in Fusion since it’s not a random pattern like I did, but something fairly easily modeled. But the idea of making a segmented blank and then carving it is pretty cool!

What I did is to generate a random grayscale cloud pattern in GIMP, then use a Fusion plugin to convert that into a height map mesh, then used that mesh to split a solid and then add in lettering and border.

5 Likes

@ZachOtten do you have any experience in Fusion?

If not and you don’t want to learn I have another idea that might work.

I’m all ears Zach!

The short answer is yes the X-carve can easily do this. But the catch is the software, you need to design it in a 3D cad program such as Fusion 360 (free) or Solidworks etc. then send it over to the xcarve. Easel is not able to do 3D at the moment.

1 Like

I do not have any experience in Fusion, im open to any ideas you have!

Have you used tinkercad?

OK, now you’ve got me curious.

I would be interested in the method used in Fusion I think I know it but I would love to see how its done :slight_smile: