Wiring a solid state relay

I recently purchased a Dewalt DWP611 for my in process X-Carve build. I noticed that some people recommended using solid state relays to turn the spindle on and off instead of doing it manually. What I am missing is how to actually wire the route to the relay and into the controller. Can anyone help me with some practical instructions on how to do this? Do you just cut the wall plug off and put those wires directly to the relay? I’m sure the process is not difficult or complex but I don’t want to start hacking things off my router or blow something up without proper guidance. Any help would be appreciated!

2 Likes

Thank you AlanDavis, I appreciate the diagram! I noticed it posted in at least one other thread but it was still not clear how to apply it directly to the X-Carve. I was laboring under the assumption that the router was going to be tied into the power supply like the stock spindle would have been. After I studied your diagram more carefully and remembered that the stock spindle would have been 24V DC and the 611 is of course AC, things became a lot clearer!

1 Like

Hello @AlanDavis Would this relay also work for the UK Dewalt D26200 which is the same as the usa 611 accept voltage is 240v
Thanks

This one works for you. Price is $9.70. Picture showing $970, must be typing mistake.

http://www.amazon.com/3-32V-24-480V-Single-Phase-Solid/dp/B008MU0DV6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1446036062&sr=8-2&keywords=dc+to+ac+solid+state+relay

You can also search Amazon UK site for the same specs. 3-32V DC to 24-480V AC Solid State Relay.

1 Like

Thank you very much for the quick response @AlanDavis
Much appreciated.

James

1 Like

Hi @AlanDavis
It arrived today, Bigger and heavier than i thought but looks well made.
Here is a picture, I take it that it wires up exact same way as your relaywiringnew.jpg?

Thanks

2 Likes

Many thanks @AngusMcleod