Z-axis diving into project

I’ve been using my X-Carve for the last 2 months with only minor issues (bad spindle, replaced gshield). Today, the z-axis seems to be randomly diving into my work. Although on my first two projects today, it dove at the end (after hours of work), I reran the “setup my machine” process. This time, it dove after about 10 minutes.

This current project is running a 1/8" flat endmill, 0.025" depth and 30"/min. I ran these conservative settings so that I could try to catch the problem. By the time that I stopped the machine, it was cutting 0.27" deeper than the previous layer. I’ve attached images showing the issue.

I’m running Easel on a new Macbook Pro. My X-Carve is a 500mm unit with the 400w 48v quiet spindle, with the stock arduino and gshield. In scanning the forum, the only suggestion that I haven’t tried is to re-load the Arduino. I can do that, but it doesn’t make sense to me that the Arduino is the problem. Rather, it seems like it may be Easel.

Any thoughts?

Are you 100% sure the bit is not lose and drifting down? My first few cuts I discovered I had not tightened the collet fully and had the same problem; There is a surprising amount of downward force applied to the bit when cutting.

I had that problem, and it was my stock spindle starting to go. Are you using the stock spindle?

also check your z stepper cable, both at the screw plate and the gshield it could be one wire a little loose

Allen, on each of the three failed projects, I was using different bits. One was a 2-flute straight, one was a 2 flute ball ball nose, and one was a 2 flute (pretty aggressive) bit. In the case of the straight bit, there should be no downward force. I’ll check the bit, though, to make sure. By the way, I appreciate all of your posts on the forum - you’ve contributed some really good info.