Carving .svg photo's with x-carve

Does anyone have some positive advice on how to carve a photo with x-carve?

1 Like

Give this a try, I think it’s what you’re looking for (and it has a free trial):

Thanks PeterJames for the input. I am looking at this software already, just concerned with how long the ‘trial’ period is and then what’s it going to cost to purchase it? Any ideas on that? Also trying to figure out what good importing svg files into easel is if all it’s going to do is a flat top to bottom rendering?

$150 - Products Compare Page | Vectric

And don’t think of it as “import photo”, it’s more for importing a two-color image, so you can take something like this:

and make something like this:

[edit] Also you’re going to want to invest in some v-bits if you’re looking to do photo work, check out the thread here:

I purchased two ‘V’ bits with my x-carve, if I remember correctly I have a 60 and 90 degree bits. Anxious to try them out. I will down load the free trial v carve tomorrow.

I use LinuxCNC and it has a very good Image2Gcode generator built in. If I load in an image, rather than a g-code file, it bring up the program. Lots of options and things to tweak with. I have not had a chance to try it yet but I will as soon as my X-Carve is back up.

sorry to hijack the thread but ive been looking for a linux cnc gshield tutorial i know its serial based but how do i set up the pinout for the gshield serial shield?

@AndrewBishop This would make for an excellent new thread :smile:

1 Like

Ok, Peter you know from my posts I am a new-bee at all of this cnc stuff. So I down loaded the vcarve free trial of photo carve and followed all the tutorials. Once I have saved a file how do I get it from my hard drive to easel?