Dewalt 611 auto on/off / waste board Hades

Hello all, I’m a newbie to cnc routing, i got my x-carve in March of this year and have cruised the forum daily. My problems are 1. I wired up the Amazon relay today and my Dewalt runs all the time during the setup i noticed the relay clicks in as soon as i power up the machine. During setup it tells you to press a button to power on the spindle and press again to power off the spindle. My Dewalt runs all the time unless I cut it off with the switch on the router.I ran the yellow and black wire to the pins on the arduino From right to left the black wire is on the second pin and the yellow on the 5th pin, i ran it to the plug next to the spindle switch, I ran 2 wires from the 4 hole plug back to the relay plug. Any ideas? 2. I’m trying to make a sacrificial waste board and i cannot get easel to space the holes 75 mm on center with a grid of 10 by 10 holes. My board is 28 inches wide and 29 inches deep and 1/2 inch thick. I’ve been working on this all day of and on. Do I have to move each row of holes by hand in the drawing to get them exactly right? I’m really impressed with the knowledge on this board and how willingly it is shared. You guys rock! Thanks greg

I can’t look at the wiring right now, but I can help you out with the wasteboard holes. First, you’ve got to make sure your stepper motors are calibrated. It doesn’t do any good to tell them to move the bit over by X distance if it really moves Y distance.

As for spacing the holes, you can use the replicator app in Easel. Just make sure you tell it to make the spacing 75mm-holesize. As in, if you choose to make an 8mm hole you would want to tell it to put a 67mm spacing between holes.

You can find videos I made on stepper calibration and sacrificial wasteboards by going to this forum: X-Carve Maintenance/Troubleshooting Videos - Add Your Own!