Epoxy Resin Inlay in Plywood

Hello All,

I am curious if anyone has every done an Epoxy Inlay in plywood. I’ve never done an epoxy inlay before and my only concern with plywood is on the sanding aspect. Do you think I would be sanding away most the veneer on top of the plywood? Not having done this before I’m just not sure how much sanding there is to get everything cleaned up and smooth at the end.

Also any suggestions/links to the epoxy/resins you guys use would be great. I know that you add the coloring in yourself but I am choosing between white/black inlay.

Thank you guys very much

I haven’t tried with regular plywood but I venture to guess its a “depend” kinda question :slight_smile:
Would expect the quality of the veneer will have some effect on colour bleed.

I have however made a couple epoxy inlays recently and my advice is to use long cure epoxy, preferably 24hrs cure time. Reason being it flow thinner = flow better into the pockets, less likely to trap air bubbles. Color can be “anything” such as nail polish added, food colouring, paints (can or spray) etc…

These were done using Easel Pro / v-bit running 1/16" deep.

3 Likes

Thank for the the reply. I saw your posts with these images and it’s kind of why I wanted to try out the epoxy/inlay in the first place.

The slow cure definitely makes sense. Did you have any issues with only carving down 1/16"?

Haldor is correct, kind of depends on the plywood.
Some have thick veneer and some are thin. I have used red oak ply that was less than 0.040" on surface ply.

So is my assumption that there is a fair bit of sanding involved when doing epoxy/resin inlays correct?

No issues, had I got shallower the amount of (or lack) pigment would make it shine through - which could if done correctly become a very cool feature… :slight_smile:

1/16" was deep enough for the blacks to be real black.