Wedding Project Help

Hello. Newbie Here. I have stumbled across what I think is a great idea for a Wedding present for a family member coming up this summer. I would like to make a sign similar to this one in the picture. I have created the project in easel, but I am not sure if I have things set up correctly or not. Looking to see if anyone else has done similar project in past or not. Any help or guidance would be appreciated. Just not real clear understanding about tool changes, and how best go about this project.

Thanks

2 Likes

I’d suggest doing a test project first. Use cheap wood and see what happens.
There was a recent thread on this: First multi-layer text sign
I’d recommend using a v-bit for the detail if you’re using Easel pro.

Thanks for the input Neil. After looking this over more in last couple days, I was figuring that the V-Carve bit would probably be first cut for the outline, then go back in with milling bit to clear out remainder. Thanks for the thread. I will check it out.

1 Like

Hi Brian

The two stage carving, actually works the other way around. The milling bit goes in and clears out the bulk, then the vbit does the detail finish work.

Gotcha. Thanks for the follow Up. Gonna git it a go this weekend when I have “time” haha. Looks like a several hour project. Feel like a kid at Christmas. haha

Thanks

@BrianHoelscher1 Feel free to share the project before you actually carve if you want someone to take a look at it. I remember the first time I sent code for a real project to a CNC router. I was ready to pull the plug when things went horribly wrong… They didn’t. Everything was smooth. It wasn’t until I got comfortable when the drama started. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Well would love too. Can you coach me on how to do this?? I am currently looking as well. I currently have it set up in Easel.

Hopefully this link works.

1 Like

The tool setting for tough cut is wrong. should be 1/4 .25 bit not the .125.