Anyone using the Makita RT0701C router?

Hey guys!

I just ordered my X-carve; this is my first time posting to the forum.

Before ordering the machine, I decided against the stock DC spindle, opting rather for a 1/4" collet and more power. I use a Dewalt 611 as my handheld router in the shop and love it, so when I saw the 611 spindle mount as an option, I went for it. But then I went to Home Depot and noticed the Makita RT0701C, which is lighter, smaller, has the same power rating, and has a larger range of speed (10,000-30,000RPM) than the Dewalt.

So is anyone out there using the Makita? Any words for/against the Makita/Dewalt? I’m getting the 1000 mm machine so would sagging be any issue with a heavy router? Also if someone has the Makita could you please tell me the diameter? If I recall correctly I think the Dewalt is 2.715" diameter so I’m wondering what it might take to shim it to fit the Makita.

Thank you!

@JeremySchmidt - My Makita RT0701C measured exactly 64.75mm, which is 2.55 inches. I took the drawing for the DW660 and just enlarged the center to be 65mm, and it works fine. I had my local community college aviation machine department make the parts for me. It gave their students a nice real-world design project, and it gave me some nice mounts. See this thread, or search the forums for others.
Also, check out Targ’s Workshop on YouTube. @Targs_Workshop (Matthew) is on these forums, as well as the Shapeoko forums, and that is what he uses. Good luck.

BTW, I seriously wish Inventables would just make a mount for this router already. It’s a great router, and it is gaining popularity quickly.

1 Like